12 books

Following is the list that I plan to complete in this quarter

  1. Mind maps at work (By Tony Buzan) :Completed the book on 1st Jan itself πŸ™‚ Useless book. Mind map is a good concept but the way author has explained the concept, I didn’t like it. But he is an author of international fame and hence I have decided to give him another opportunity to impress me. I plan to read more books by him πŸ™‚
  2. Awaken the giant within (By Anthony Robbins): One of the best books that I have read till now. Everybody should read it :-). Its a fat book (total pages – 538 ) and I am still on Pg 225, but overall, its an awesome book. If I can manage, I will want to read this book once every year.

Other books that I plan to read in this quarter

3.Β  The power of creative intelligence (By Tony Buzan)

4.Β  The power of verbal Intelligence (By Tony Buzan)

5. Age proof your brain (By Tony Buzan)

6. A thousand splendid suns (By Khaled Hosseini)

I still have to select 6 more books for this quarter.

17th Jan 2009: After reading 5-6 pages of ‘Awaken the giant within’, I feel so motivated πŸ™‚ I am really enjoying reading this book and plan to finish this book by this quarter end (Have intentionally decided to go slow on this book). Meanwhile I have started ‘A thousand splendid suns’

26th Jan 2009: After 17th Jan, didn’t read ‘Awaken the giant within’. Have been reading ‘A thousand splendid suns’. I have almost completed half of it.Β  Its a nice book, very well written and involves the reader well !

31st Jan 2009: Last line of the novel is ‘But the game involves only male names. Because, if it’s a girl, Laila has already named her.’ Took some time to comprehend it, but when I did, my eyes were wet !

I have zeroed in on 1 more book for this quarter. ‘Kite Runner’ by Khaled Hosseini. Please contact me immediately, if you can lend me this book πŸ™‚

5th Feb 2009: Three books that I bought online today (through flipkart.com)
1) Go Kiss The World: Life Lessons For The Young Professional By Subroto Bagchi
2) Stay Hungry Stay Foolish by Rashmi Bansal
3) The White Tiger by Aravind Adiga

9th Feb 2009: Received the books today. Will start with ‘Stay Hungry Stay Foolish’.Β  The book is about 25 IIM Ahmedabad graduates who chose the road of entrepreneurship. The author claims that the book will inspire young graduates to look beyond placements & salaries. Let c !
Meanwhile, I have read ‘Awaken the giant within’ till Pg 325. I will again repeat, everyone should read this book. I will give this book 9.9 out of 10. Will give ‘Mind maps at work’ 2/10. ‘A thousand splendid suns’ will get 7/10 (Generally I am not able to co-relate that much to fiction as I can to non fiction and this biasness could be one reason for this comparatively low rating. Otherwise its a well written book)

Tags:

2 Responses to “12 books”

  1. Mehul Gadhia Says:

    This is really good one… Setting the goal in the beginning of the quarter and that too reading books.. great…. I am going to give it a try by reading “Awaken the giant within (By Anthony Robbins)” as you are prasing it so much… lets see whether you are able to impress me πŸ™‚
    Good luck dude.. and keep posting “other good book reading experiences” πŸ™‚

  2. lipi Says:

    Do let me know how “A thousand splendid suns” goes once you are through :).

Leave a Reply

